Jurors and Awards

2015 Jurors


Bernardo Britto is a Brazilian-born filmmaker who graduated from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and is a member of Borscht Corp. He codirected the feature film Nothing Yet (2009) and received the National Board of Review animation grant in 2011. In 2012, he was selected as a Marcie Bloom fellow and codirected the feature Wisdom Teeth. In 2013, his film Places Where We Lived screened at various film festivals, including SXSW, the Chicago International Film Festival, and the AFI Fest, where it garnered the award for best animated short. He’s the creator of Yearbook, an award-winning animation that premiered at Sundance and was featured in last year’s Indie Grits animation showcase.



Kristen Fitzpatrick is the Director of Acquisition & Exhibition at Women Make Movies, the world’s leading distributor of films by and about women, where she programs the global exhibition of WMM’s collection of over 500 films and is also responsible for the acquisition of the organization’s new releases. Kristen has been on numerous film festival juries around the world, and also guest curates an ongoing film series in Brooklyn, where she lives with her Chihuahua, has an ongoing love affair with film and New York City, and spends a considerable amount of time deliberating about how documentary film & feminism really can change the world.



George Scheer is the co-founder and director of Elsewhere. George is a writer, scholar, and artist who fosters creative communities at the intersection of aesthetics and social change. Sylvia’s grandson, George leads organizational development and restoration of the historic property.  George holds an MA in Critical Theory and Visual Culture from Duke University and a BA from the University of Pennsylvania in Political Communications.



2015 Awards Line-Up


TOP GRIT – best overall film; juried selection

(Cash Award Value: $1,000)

PEOPLE’S GRIT – best overall film; audience selection

(Cash Award Value: $500)

BIG GRIT – best feature length film

(Cash Award Value: $500)

SHORT GRIT – best short film

(Cash Award Value: $500)

YOUNG GRIT – best film by a student filmmaker

(Cash Award Value: $500)

EXPERIMENTAL GRIT – best experimental film

(Cash Award Value: $500)

HELEN HILL AWARD – best film by a female filmmaker

(Cash Award Value: $500)

LOCAL GRIT – best local film

(Cash Award Value: $250)

ANIMATED GRIT – Best animated film; sponsored by Debbie Yerkes

(Cash Award Value: $250)

To see last years’s jurors and award winners, click here